Honors & Awards



Throughout the fraternity’s rich history Triangle has honored its brothers with a number of awards.   Brothers have volunteered many hours, achieved new heights in industry, and continued the growth and prosperity of Triangle Fraternity.

National Awards  |  Alumni Awards  |  Wall of Fame


The Richard H. Sudheimer Interfraternal Leadership Award is intended to recognize significant contributions by non-members of Triangle Fraternity to the betterment of the interfraternal movement.

Richard H. Sudheimer Award

Wall of Valor

Triangle Fraternity is honored by the following Brothers who made the ultimate sacrifice in service to their country.

Wall of Valor

National Honorary

National Honorary Members may be chosen from engineers, architects, and scientists in appropriate fields who have attained recognized national standing in their professions.  Throughout the years Triangle Fraternity has been proud to recognize brothers who think outside the box and attain whole new heights in their respective fields.

 Bios of Honored Brothers


Did you know that a Triangle Brother . . .

Was a Space Shuttle crew member: 
Ellison Onizuka colo69 flew on Discovery as a mission specialist in January 1985 and lost his life in the Challenger accident in January 1986. The United States Air Force’s Onizuka Air Station was located in Sunnyvale, CA. (The station is now closed). An episode of Star Trek: The Next Generation mentions a (fictional) shuttlecraft named after Brother Onizuka.

Won a medal in Olympic Games:
Frank R. McCabe marq50 was a member of the U.S. Olympic basketball squad which won the gold medal in 1952.

Was the first person to communicate by telphone via satellite:
Fred R. Kappel minn23 was the first speaker by Telstar, in phone conversation with President Johnson.

Served as two-term governor of Wyoming:
Jim Geringer ks64 served as governor of Wyoming from 1995 to 2003.

Served as two-term governor of Alaska:
Jay Hammond ps41 served as Governor of Alaska from 1975 to 1983.

Was Chairman, President, and CEO of Shell Oil Company:
Steven L. Miller ill64 held these positions from 1999 to 2002. He began his career with Shell in 1967.

Ran a leading manufacturer of computer hardware in the United States:
Edward McCracken is64 was president and CEO of Silicon Graphics, whose graphics computers are used for everything from animation in Star Wars to car modeling at GM.

Served as Chairman of the Board of AT&T
Fred R. Kappel minn23 held this position from 1962 to 1969.

Co-founded one of the leading computer game companies in the United States:
Michael Morhaime ucla85 is co-founder and President of Blizzard Entertainment, maker of the popular Warcraft and Diablo computer games.

Wrote for Encyclopedia Britannica:
Robert S. Mayo ar24 wrote much of the entry for tunneling in the Encyclopedia Britannica.

Stood on the South Pole:
Forrest L. Dowling wis60 was one of 11 Americans who reached the South Pole overland in January 1961.

Discovered an ancient Inca city:
Reinaldo Chohfi ucla85asc has been credited with the discovery of Maranpampa, a large Inca city in Peru.

Was given the first Distinguished Service Medal awarded in Korea:
Robert B. Martin pur24 was awarded the decoration in 1951.

Watched the test of the first Atomic Bomb:
Richard Conklin ill44 and several other Triangles worked on the Manhattan Project and witnessed the test of the first atom bomb.

Served as president of two steel companies:
Tom Graham lou45 has served as president of USX and of Armco Steel in Ohio. He has also served as chairman of the board of AK Steel.