Historical Overview

Brothers c. 1910

Pictured above: Triangle brothers of the Illinois Chapter in 1910.

In 1906 sixteen Civil Engineering majors at the University of Illinois came together to start a fraternity unlike any other.  Since the Triangle Fraternity’s official incorporation in 1907 Triangle has expanded to universities across the country.  Below are some of the fraternities most important moments since our founding 106 years ago.

December 9-11, 1909
First National Convention held at Champaign, Illinois.

November 1911
First issue of TRIANGLE REVIEW, official magazine of the Fraternity, produced by W.A. Knapp ill asc.

February 7-8, 1913
4th National Convention at Champaign, Illinois, adopted national colors of old rose and gray. Ceremonial gavel presented to the Fraternity by W.A. Knapp ill asc. Civil Engineering Fraternity of the University of Wisconsin installed as Wisconsin Chapter.

January 1921
Adoption by national referendum of constitutional change permitting initiation of members from any branch of engineering.

March 3-5, 1921
12th National Convention held at Champaign, Illinois, adopted present form of membership

May 26, 1923
Scroll and Triangle Club at Armour Institute of Technology (now Illinois Institute of Technology) installed as Armour Chapter at Chicago. Triangle Rattle, originated by Iowa Chapter, was presented for the first time to a ‘baby’ chapter.

April 30-May 2, 1925
First presentation of Service Key and Scholarship Cup at 16th National Convention in Cincinnati.

April 28-30, 1927
First Chapter Officers School held in conjunction with 18th National Convention at Chicago.

September 29-30, 1928
First copies of a new publication, A Syllabus on Pledge Training, distributed at Chapter Officers School.

April 28-30, 1932
Silver Anniversary Convention held at University of Illinois. Founders’ Plaque dedicated in Illinois Chapter House. Modified coat-of-arms approved, and Pledge Training Course adopted.

August 1932
First information booklet for use as a rushee prospectus published.

October 1932
First Chapter Officers Manual issued.

Triangle became a senior member of National Interfraternity Conference.

January 29, 1950
Herbert F. Scobie minn32 appointed Executive Secretary

August 30-September 2, 1955
42nd National Convention at State College, Pennsylvania, adopted white chrysanthemum as official flower

August 28-31, 1957
Triangle Golden Anniversary Convention held at Urbana, Illinois

July 12-13, 1958
Building Loan Fund established to help finance chapter house building and remodeling

August 30-September 2, 1961
National Convention in Milwaukee provided for Fraternity’s first full-time executive director, voted to admit approved chemistry, physics, and mathematics majors to membership

September 2-5, 1964
47th National Convention held in Champaign, Illinois. Founder Arthur Schwerin ill07 received letters from all living past presidents and a citation designating him “Mr. Triangle”

July 31-August 3, 1974
First Leadership School not associated with a Convention held in Columbus, Ohio.

January 22, 1983
Computer science joined chemistry, physics and mathematics as an approved science following a referendum vote of the chapters.

March 10, 1991
Triangle’s membership reaches 20,000 initiates. Matthew Lawrence Stamm rose91 is initiated as member number 20,000.

March 6, 1994
Triangle becomes one of the first fraternities on the World Wide Web with the creation of the Triangle Fraternity Home Page.

August 6-9, 1994
At Leadership School in Madison, Wisconsin, the School is renamed the “Herbert F. Scobie Leadership School” to honor Triangle’s long-time Executive Director and Editor.

February 1995
The Triangle Wall of Fame is created. The first four members are Frederick R. Kappel minn23, Ellison S. Onizuka colo69, Henry J. Ramey, Jr. pur48, and Gerald A. Rauenhorst marq50.

August 5-8, 1995
National Convention is held in Overland Park, Kansas. A major rewrite of the National Constitution and Bylaws is completed.

August 27, 1997
Triangle moves into a new National Headquarters, located in Plainfield, Indiana.

January 14-16, 2000
At the first annual Presidents Academy in Plainfield, Indiana, twenty-five chapter presidents gather to discuss leadership in Triangle.

August 1, 2006
Brian Tenclinger takes office as Triangle’s Executive Director.

July 12-14, 2007
Triangle’s Centennial Convention takes place in Indianapolis, Indiana. Highlights include the dedication of the new front courtyard at the National Headquarters, joint events with Phi Sigma Rho Sorority

November 8, 2008
National Council declares November 8, 2008, to be Bob Patten Day in recognition of Brother Patten’s long service to the Armour Chapter.

November 23, 2008
Triangle’s 25,000th initiate, Samuel M. Scalzo pitt08, is initiated at the Pitt Chapter.

October 1, 2015
Chris Hancock takes office as Triangle’s Executive Director.

October 17, 2016
Tom Pennington takes office as Triangle’s Executive Director.